Skip to main content

Advisory Board

The Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory receives direction, guidance and oversight from the SAO Advisory Board, composed of advocates dedicated to astrophysics research and pursuing the next big discoveries.

Michael J. Tuteur

Boston, MA
Board Chair, Partner, Foley & Lardner, LLP

Jim E. Erbs

Gilberts, IL
Board Vice Chair, President & CEO, Safety Socket, LLC

Thomas M. Clay

Boulder, CO
Managing Member, Epacria Capital Partners

David Cowan

Atherton, CA
Partner, Bessemer Venture Partners

Chris Dickerson

Kildeer, IL
Partner, Paul Hastings

Alex Gersznowicz

San Francisco, CA
Chairman, Alex Gersznowicz Ventures

Andy Heyward

Beverly Hills, CA
CEO, Genius Brands International

Elizabeth Hudson

Cambridge, MA
CTO, Omega Funds

Todd Krasnow

Newton, MA
Consumer Fund, Highland Capital Partners

Dr. Linda Neumann

Nashua, NH
Instructor, Harvard Institute for Learning in Retirement

Murthy Nukala

San Mateo, CA
Founder & CEO, Adchemy, Inc.

Dr. Deepak Raghavan

Atlanta, GA
Adjunct Professor in Astronomy, Georgia State University

John C. Ryan

Minneapolis, MN
Founder, Chairman & Owner, John Ryan Companies

Randall (Randy) C. Shepard

Austin, TX
Senior Director, Dell Medical School at the University of Texas at Austin

Phil Young

Portola Valley, CA
Senior Advisor, U.S. Venture Partners