Skip to main content

American Astronomical Society (AAS)

The American Astronomical Society (AAS), established 1899, is the major organization of professional astronomers in North America. The basic objective of the AAS is to promote the advancement of astronomy and closely related branches of science. The membership (~7,000) also includes physicists, mathematicians, geologists, engineers and others whose research interests lie within the broad spectrum of subjects now comprising contemporary astronomy.

Society Prizes and Awards

Henry Norris Russell Lectureship: lifetime achievement

Newton Lacy Pierce Prize in Astronomy: early career, observational

Helen B. Warner Prize for Astronomy: early career, observational or theoretical

Beatrice M. Tinsley Prize: especially innovative research

Dannie Heineman Prize for Astrophysics: mid-career

George Van Biesbroeck Prize: extraordinary service

Annie J Cannon Award

Education Prize

  • Philip Sadler - 2010 (read more)

  • Owen Gingerich - 2004


Divisional Prizes, Awards, and Medals

Dirk Brouwer Award

LeRoy E Doggett Prize

  • Owen Gingerich - 2000

Karen Harvey Prize

Gerard P. Kuiper Prize

Bruno Rossi Prize