Skip to main content

Ernest O. Lawrence Award

The Lawrence Award honors scientists and engineers, at mid- career, showing promise for the future, for exceptional contributions in research and development supporting the Department of Energy and its mission to advance the national, economic and energy security of the United States. The Lawrence Award is given in each of the following seven categories: Chemistry, Materials Research, Environmental Science and Technology, Life Sciences (including Medicine), Nuclear Technologies (Fission and Fusion), National Security and Non-Proliferation, and High Energy and Nuclear Physics. The Lawrence Awards are administered by the Department of Energy's Office of Science.